The 2005 Prize


  1. Mgr. Jindrich Kolorenc, PhD. (1977) presented the thesis Charge transport in strongly disordered solids defended in September 2004 at the Charles University
  2. Ing. Michal Malinsky, PhD. (1976) presented the thesis Nondecoupling effects of heavy Higgs bosons in two-Higgs doublet extensions of the standard model defended in September 2005 at the Charles University
  3. Dr. Daniele Oriti (1976) presented the thesis Spin foam models of quantum spacetime defended in October 2003 at the University of Cambridge
  4. RNDr. Jozef Strecka, PhD. (1977) presented the thesis Quantum aspects of exactly solvable low-dimensional spin models defended in March 2004 at the Safarik University of Kosice
  5. RNDr. Otakar Svitek, PhD. (1977) presented the thesis Gravitational waves: approximate methods and exact solutions defended in June 2005 at the Charles University

The verdict

At its closing session on November 30, 2005, the jury decided unanimously to award the prize to for the thesis Spin foam models of quantum spacetime which, in the jury opinion, contributed substantially to a new approach to the quantum theory of gravitation.

Furthermore, the jury is pleased to declare that also the other four submitted theses are on a high level and appreciates the work of their authors.

Back to the main page
Last update: December 1, 2005